Before And After

No, you’re not on Wheel of Fortune and about to win a lot of money. I’m talking about before and after pictures. Except, mine are a little different…

I haven’t always been fat. Growing up I played lots of different sports, most of which I was good at: I played softball, basketball, I was in track, I was on the volleyball team. I was extremely active. Yeah, I was always the big girl in my mind because I wasn’t the size of a stick figure. But I wasn’t fat. Looking back now, what I wouldn’t give to be at that very size I was when I thought I was fat back in high school.

In high school, I was probably around 165-180 pounds. I was a typical girl that loved looking nice most days, wanted a little bit of attention from the opposite sex, and even though there were days when I thought I was fat, I still thought of myself as cute and attractive. Here is a picture of me at 17 at my Junior prom. I’m the one on the left.

20130111-214224.jpg

A year later, right after graduation, my mom took me on a senior trip to Cancun. It was one of my favorite times with my mom! I have a lot of great memories from that trip including getting to drive this mini boat really fast and scaring my mom, getting my hair braided, going to SeΓ±or Frogs and drinking alcohol….legally, visiting some ruins, getting up at 7am every morning and tanning for 5 hours, I could go on it was THAT great!

But one memory that burns in my mind is what I looked like back then. I can still remember the bathing suit I wore in Cancun. It was 2-piece, showed my stomach, and I actually looked great in it. I’m not sure exactly when I stopped caring about my weight and looks, but it makes me sad to think of what I have missed out on. Being overweight, I stopped caring about clothes, and makeup, and my body. I want to get back to that place of being confident, of being…dare I say sexy, and making new great memories instead of letting my weight hold me back.

So since this IS before and after, below is the after I put on the weight picture. That’s me on the left.

20130111-214503.jpg

The weight has slowly crept up and up, so I know it’s not going to fall off quickly. It’s a process and a journey I’m taking everyday to lose it. My goal is to show progress pictures of the weight going down instead of up. Therefore, I’ll set a small goal. When I get down to 300 pounds, I’ll post a new updated picture. This time, my before and after will be going from big to small! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Before And After

  1. Wow – this article was really powerful for me. I have ALWAYS thought you are sooo beautiful…. And it was really great to read that YOU think you were and are beautiful. I have been baffled as to why you couldn’t see it over the years. So this was powerful for me to get to hear your thoughts. Thank you! I know you know it’s not about food…it’s about living the life you feel you deserve. And the joy you felt in cancan is what you deserve everyday.

    P.S. I love your writing style. It’s pretty amazing.

  2. It makes me happy to read how much you enjoyed that time together. Since it was at the end of your senior year, I wasn’t sure if it was a good thing to go on a trip with your mom or a torture.

    Just like Robyn, I am glad to see that you can see the beauty in yourself. High school is such a hard time, with a lot of pressure and focus on the external. The beauty if really when what is on the outside mirrors what is on the inside.

    Can’t wait for the next post….

    • I definitely enjoyed that time with you! It’s some of my favorite memories from a trip. Love you mom and thanks for always being there for me! So glad you’re enjoying reading this as much as I love writing it. πŸ™‚

  3. Seems like you have a pretty good set of followers so far Linds πŸ™‚ We will have to take another picture with Kara when we hit our goal weight then we can really have a before and after πŸ™‚ Keep on keeping on!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

