Food: A Breakdown of What I’m Eating

For the past few weeks, I’ve been sticking to eating a lot of the same things everyday. My doctor gave me a guideline to follow of what to eat and how much to eat at each meal. This is what it looks like:

Breakfast:
2 starch
1 fruit
1 milk

Lunch:
2 starch
3 meat
1 vegetable
1 fruit
1 fat
1 milk

Dinner:
3 starch
3 meat
2 vegetable
3 fat
1 fruit

Evening Snack:
1 starch
1 milk
1 fruit

Every morning I have a bowl of Cheerios or Bran Flakes and a banana. For lunch I make a sandwich of either turkey, ham, tuna salad, or egg salad. With that I also have a yogurt, a vegetable such as carrots, green beans, or sliced tomato, and maybe some grapefruit or sugar free applesauce. After lunch but before dinner, I’m usually hungry because it’s my longest time to go without food. So, I usually pack 3 pieces of pickled okra and a few pork rinds to get me through to dinner. Who knew pork rinds have zero carbs?! Thanks Allan for that tip! Of course I’m not eating a ton of pork rinds, but it gives me that salty crunch that I love.

For dinner, for the most part, I follow what the doctor said. But I have also been reading into diabetes and specifics for a diabetic friendly diet. I came across what is called the plate method. Basically if you fill 1/2 of your plate with non starchy vegetables, 1/4 with lean protein, and 1/4 with starch, you’ll end up with a well balanced diabetic friendly meal. Here is what my dinner looks like most nights…

20130112-212415.jpg

Or…

20130112-212505.jpg

I know it’s really easy to get bored with eating the same things over and over again so I’m trying to switch it up every week. For this week, I found a few new products at Whole Foods that I’m excited to incorporate into my diet. First, I found this:

20130112-212711.jpg

What I love about it is that it’s a dressing that’s oil and sugar free and only 20 calories for 2 tablespoons. I haven’t tried it yet, but they did have samples of a carrot ginger dressing just like this one and it was delicious so I’m super excited to make side salads to go with my sandwiches at lunch using this dressing!

Next is organic jalapeño cilantro hummus and baked chips.

20130112-213028.jpg

20130112-213044.jpg

This hummus is spicy and delicious! And the chips are super crunchy and perfect with the hummus. A serving of these chips is 20 chips, which is a lot! I could cut that in half and eat it with the hummus and only be at 15g of carbs, which will be a great evening snack with a small glass of milk! My typical evening snack right now is a small bowl of cereal so it’ll be a nice change.

One thing I LOVE about Whole Foods is that they sale cooked grilled chicken. I love grilled chicken and do not have a grill of my own, so it’s nice being able to get it there.

20130112-213101.jpg

I think I’ll make a rosemary chicken salad to go on a sandwich a couple days for lunch this week with this. Mmmm, yummy!

I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but I do enjoy having something sweet every now and then. So when I saw this frozen Greek yogurt I knew I had to try it.

20130112-213114.jpg

This stuff was goooood! It only has 100 calories, 2 grams of fat, and 11 grams of sugar. It came in a 3 pack, so it’s portioned out which I need. It’s not too sweet, has that Greek yogurt tang, and was just what I needed a couple nights ago. Since it does have sugar, I won’t be making a habit of eating this every night, but once every couple of weeks when I’m wanting ice cream, it’ll hit the spot for sure.

I love trying new healthy products. I haven’t tried many, but I’d love to start giving my opinion/review on new ones that I buy. I’ll definitely try to keep incorporating something new into my diet and giving a review on here to tell you all about it!

One thought on “Food: A Breakdown of What I’m Eating

Leave a Reply

