An Apple A Day Keeps The Doctor Away

What do you do if you hate apples?! I guess you have to go to the doctor, which is what I did today.

The appointment was just to recheck my liver enzyme level because last time it was high. So, they took blood and I should get the results back in about 10 days. The good part of the visit was finding out my new weight. I started at 372 pounds exactly four weeks ago, and today I weighed 351. That’s 21 pounds lost and I couldn’t be happier. My goal was to be under 350, but hey, I’ll take 21 pounds!

The doctor genuinely seemed proud of me and cared that I had made some good changes, which is exactly what I wanted. I also had a lower blood pressure number, so I’m glad I can SEE my diet working to make things better.

When I was talking to the doctor about my weight loss, he mentioned how sometimes when losing weight you’ll hit a plateau. He said that your body has to get used to the new weight and then it can continue to lose weight. In times past, I’ve lost maybe 15-20 pounds, hit that plateau, then given up…multiple times. I was really glad to hear him say this. It felt like a little extra boost I needed to hear because if I do hit that plateau, I’m prepared to face it and not let it get me down.

Even if I don’t see a smaller number on the scale, it matters that I’m making healthy changes in the right direction to get healthy. A very wise woman once told me, “The number on the scale doesn’t matter. Weight is just a number and nobody around you can see it. They only see what’s on the outside.” Thanks for that mom! 🙂

3 thoughts on “An Apple A Day Keeps The Doctor Away

Leave a Reply

