The Biggest Loser-5k

Watching this show every Monday brings back memories of times when I wished so badly that I could be on the show. There are tons of advantages the people on the show have compared to people losing weight in real life.

First, they lose weight soooo fast. It’s always encouraging to see a big weight loss every week and it keeps you motivated to keep going. In real life, it comes off a lot slower and it’s harder to stay motivated when you don’t have comparable weight loss to the weight loss on the show. This is the big reason why I’ve chosen to only weigh every few weeks. Although it’s tough, I’m trying not to get caught up in the numbers.

Another HUGE advantage the people on TBL have is that they are away from the real world. Some may see this as a bad thing, but I personally think its the best part! They get to get away from everything: their jobs, bills, distractions, etc. and they get to focus on themselves. They get to focus on just eating healthy, working out, and losing weight.

Unfortunately for the 99.9% of us that don’t have those luxuries, we have real life to deal with. We have to make sure our lunches are packed, or make sure we get up in time to eat breakfast, we have to worry about work and paying bills, and we’re always faced with new challenges everyday that could distract us from our goals. It’s how we handle those “distractions” that determine if/when we reach our goal.

Anyways, about this episode….the show covers so much in 2 hours and I can’t possibly talk about it all so I’ll just focus on one or two parts that stood out to me. This week their challenge stood out. They all had to run, or walk, a 5k.

I have participated in one 5k in my life. It was HARD. They barely focused on the 5k on the show and they definitely didn’t really focus on them after they ran it. So, let me tell you about my first and only 5k experience.

I did a 5k called the Glow Run with my BFF Megan. It was really cool because it started at night, hence the “glow” part. I went to the store and bought a lot of those glow sticks and was fully prepared for this run. The bad part is that by prepared I mean exactly the opposite. Sure, I had the running clothes, the tennis shoes, the glow sticks, but I was anything but prepared…

So the day of the race, we carpool down to the Tulsa Zoo which is where the run was being held. The traffic was horrible so Megan and I used that time to put on all of our glow stuff. We had glow sticks on our wrists, in our hair, on our necks and all over. THAT was the 2nd most fun part of the race. What’s the 1st most fun thing about the race you ask? Keep reading and you’ll find out! Here we are pre- race in the car with our glow on! I’m on the right.

20130122-011432.jpg

So here is where it went bad. They ran out of parking so we had to park a mile away. Then we had to walk a mile just to get to the race. The race actually started as we were making our way to the start line. We barely got our race packets before we started the race. It was unorganized and a little chaotic to say the least.

We finally started the race, which we are walking by the way, and everything is going pretty well now. Here is where the 1st BEST part of the race was. As we’re walking, a younger guy comes running by with a huge boom box blaring Miley Cyrus’s “Party In The USA” and Megan and I are in heaven because we love Miley and that totally made our night. 🙂

So, fast forward to the beginning of the last mile of the 5k. At this point I’ve walked 3 miles and I’m tired. My legs hurt, my insides hurt, and I’m realizing how out of shape I am. Well we finally finish (not last!) and it starts to sprinkle and then full on rain. If you were paying attention to this, you would remember that we parked a mile away… We had to walk back a mile in the pouring rain, all while being exhausted from the previous 4 miles we had already walked. That mile walk to the car was brutal. I’m sure I was cussing at the rain and frankly pissed off. Poor Megan was such a good sport for putting up with my out of shape, tired self.

Once we finally got to the car, it was fun again. We were soaked, but at least out of the rain and I think I might have smiled once I got to sit down in the car. Even though I have a love-hate relationship with that 5k, I really did enjoy walking it with Megan and I hope she knows I have great memories from that night! Here we are at the race! That’s me on the left.

20130122-011626.jpg

The day after the race, I was sore as hell. My insides literally hurt. My stomach was in so much pain that it hurt to walk. It hurt to sleep. It hurt to do anything for about a week and I was still sore for a second week. I was so out of shape that the 5k kicked my butt.

So what have I learned from this experience? I’ve learned that I want to do another 5k! In April, there is the Color Run and I’m definitely going to participate in it. Hopefully this next run, I’ll be lighter and a little more in shape so maybe it won’t kill me as much as the last one. I could easily say, “no, I never want to do another 5k” and just come up with an excuse like its too hard or I can’t do it. But I CAN do it and I’m going to do it and I’m going to get better, faster, and stronger!

3 thoughts on “The Biggest Loser-5k

  1. You have so much time to prepare this year and your weight loss will definitely work in your favor. Who knows – you may find that you begin to enjoy all of the preparation that leads up to the race and the way it helps you get to your ultimate goal.

  2. Oh, that’s exciting! And if you don’t hurt after a race, it wasn’t worth it! Bring on the pain! (And just think… I signed up for NATURAL childbirth!) You can do it!!

Leave a Reply

