BFF: Best Friends Fo-drizzle

It’s always a good day when you get to hang out with your BFF. And that’s exactly what I did today!

When we used to hang out, we’d usually go out to a new restaurant we hadn’t been before or go to the dollar movie theater and see a movie. But this time, my BFF suggested a healthy dinner and a workout. We’re both trying to lose weight, so it’s great that we’re both in the same boat.

We decided to do our workout first. I’ve been inspired recently from an episode of The Biggest Loser and from seeing it on other blogs to try this workout using just your body and a deck of cards. I have a small gym space in my apartment complex, so we decided to workout there. It was great because they had mats and water, which is all we needed.

So this card workout, I’m going to call it 52 card workout. Here’s how it works: First, you have four suits on the cards. Each different suit stands for a different workout. For example, we had hearts=push ups, spades=squats, diamonds=jumping jacks, and clubs=sit ups. You shuffle up the cards and draw a card one by one and do that workout. So if the first card was a four of spades, we’d do four squats. Jacks, kings, and queens all were tens and we made aces ones. To mix it up a little more, I threw in the two jokers. The jokers=run on the elliptical for 30 seconds.

I’ve only worked out once since I started my weight loss journey so I’m terribly out of shape. I was out of breath, or at least breathing heavy, by the 4th card. But overall, I thought the card workout was fun! It really made me sweat and my muscles are definitely already a little sore. After the 52 card workout, we used the elliptical machines for 5 minutes. Luckily me and the BFF like talking to each other, so we didn’t even notice that the 5 minutes were up.

Next we went to dinner. We had planned on going to this place called Muscle Maker Grill. I’ve been there twice before and I really like it because they don’t use butter or oils and it’s super healthy. They’re chicken “nuggets” are baked and served with fat free sour cream. They use whole wheat pasta and brown rice. They’ve got grilled chicken, salmon, broccoli, spinach, etc. Literally everything there is healthy. So we were super bummed out when we got there (at 8:20) and they were closed! Who closes at 8 on a Saturday night?! This isn’t a small town, it’s Tulsa people!

Anyways, after much (or little) deliberation, we decided on HuHot Mongolian Grill. We looked up their nutritional info before and it all looked pretty good. We both hadn’t been there before so we were excited to try it out. I’m really glad we did! The dinner comes with a soup or salad, then unlimited trips to the Mongolian grill bar. We ended up getting the hot and sour soup since they were out of the egg drop soup. It sucked pretty bad. But that’s ok because the Mongolian grill made up for it.

They have everything you can imagine on this bar. They had chicken, steak, pork, mixed seafood, cabbage, broccoli, sprouts, celery, squash, peas, black beans, pineapple, onions, zucchini, mushrooms, water chestnuts, bamboo shoots, cilantro, etc. They also had pad Thai noodles, soba noodles, Chinese noodles, and rice. Then they have a whole other bar with a TON of sauces. They had black Thai peanut, garlic sauce, kung pao, ginger, sweet chili, soy sauce, spicy mustard, sherry, and lots of other different flavors to choose from. We mixed and matched and came up with some yummy combos! They then stir-fry your meal while you wait and it takes about 3 minutes or so and it’s ready to eat. We both made pretty healthy options and felt full afterwards, but not gross. I think we’ll both go back for sure!

Afterwards, we made a quick trip to Walmart and we both got some One-A-Day women’s gummy vitamins. I haven’t been taking a multi vitamin and I probably should be.

We had planned on getting some froyo after dinner but for some reason, we forgot! But that was ok with me because I didn’t even feel like I needed anything sweet.

Today was a great day. I got to spend some time with my family and as you just read, also with my BFF. I hope we can make it a habit of getting together for a workout more often! It’s always more fun with a buddy. 🙂

Tomorrow should be another great day. I’m going over to my dads and we’re making a healthy lunch and I’m going to introduce him to the 52 card workout! 🙂

7 thoughts on “BFF: Best Friends Fo-drizzle

  1. Hadn’t heard of the 52 card workout, but sounds like a fun way to get in some movement. Next time you’re over, let’s plan on doing that as well.

      • Love hearing about your workouts!! I can’t wait hear about all the creative ways you come up with!

  2. Hey, it’s Anna (Robyn’s friend). I loved reading your story and I can’t wait to hear more from you! I feel proud and inspired all at the same time…way to go!!!

  3. Being in your blog is my 15 minutes of fame. 🙂 we will def do that workout again and the restaurant. I need all the help I can get eating those veggies. I’m a little sore today as well.

    • Yeah, I was super impressed with your veggie consumption that day! If we end up working out tomorrow, we can do that card workout again if you want. 🙂 And you’ll keep getting more 15 minutes of fame every time you tell me about something new, which is pretty much every week!

Leave a Reply

