Sunday Funday

I love Sundays. My typical Sunday usually consists of sleeping in til ten, cooking a healthy lunch with my dad and step-mom, grocery shopping, prepping my meals for the week, doing laundry, and then relaxing in the evening while watching some tv. That to me is a great Sunday.

Today for lunch with my dad, I decided we’d make healthy pizzas. I really love pizza in all varieties. It’s just a good balance of bread, vegetables, protein, and cheese.

To make our pizzas healthy (and low carb) we used low carb whole wheat tortillas as our crust. I sprayed both sides of the tortillas with non stick canola oil and then laid them out on a sheet pan and baked them for about 5 minutes in a 400 degree oven. This got them a little crispy so it’d be more like a crust.

Next we took them out of the oven and topped the pizzas with our favorite toppings. Here’s what I gathered for our pizza topping options.

20130127-190655.jpg

I used the Italian sauce and added crushed red pepper to it because I like my pizza a little spicy. I then added some part skim mozzarella cheese, sautéed onions and bell peppers, turkey pepperoni, and some cooked chicken. I topped it off with a littler more cheese and then put it back in the oven for about another 6 minutes. Here is the deliciousness after.

20130127-190920.jpg

It was seriously soooo good! All together it came to about 615 calories for the whole pizza. I’ve got leftovers of everything so this week I’ll be having pizzas for dinner, except I’m going to make it on wheat toast instead.

Another great food I had today was a grapple. That’s pronounced [grap-uhl]. It’s an apple that looks just like any other red apple, BUT, it tastes like a grape! I was given this grapple by my BFF who said they are so yummy that I have to try it. Here’s what it looks like.

20130127-191101.jpg

See, can’t really tell a difference. But you can smell the difference. It smells just like grape juice! Yum! I ate the grapple in about 2 minutes. It was so delicious. It doesn’t have any nutritional value on the label so I googled it just to see if there were any added sugars or anything. I found out that there are NO added sugars or calories to the apple! This could be the most amazing thing I’ve come across ever. I pretty much hate apples, but I could eat a grapple everyday, no problem. Woohoo! Thanks Megan for this awesome discovery! 🙂

Along with my grapple, for dinner I had some store bought sushi. I have been craving sushi for a couple weeks now and I saw this at the grocery store and I had to have it.

20130127-191235.jpg

It’s cooked shrimp, cream cheese, avocado, rice, sesame seeds, and nori, and it’s topped with a little bit of spicy sauce and crunchies. And of course I had some soy sauce and wasabi paste to make it salty and spicy.

Today was a great food day filled with lots of new and delicious things. I love trying new foods, so if you ever have any suggestions I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

