The Biggest Loser: On A Budget

Tonight on the show, the theme was healthy on a budget. Each team was allotted a $10 a day per person food budget. The white team, which only consists of one player (my favorite player!) had a $70 budget for the week for food. I liked that I could compare her total to what I typically spend for a weeks worth of groceries. She ended up spending about $62. I usually spend between $75-$100 a week on groceries.

When I grocery shop, I shop for convenience. As in, I buy the pre-cut cauliflower, I buy the individual serving cups of hummus, I buy the shredded lettuce, I buy the already hardboiled eggs, etc. I know it costs more to do this, but I fear that if it’s not convenient, my laziness will kick in and I’ll make unhealthy choices. I feel like everybody is different and you have to do what works for you.

I also do a lot of cooking in the microwave for the very same reasons as above. I hate doing dishes so if it can be cooked in the microwave on a paper plate or bowl, then that’s what I do. So I pay extra to buy paper plates, paper bowls, plastic cups, and plastic silverware every week.

Since I’ve been cooking pretty much everything in the microwave, I’ve come across some good products that are great even when microwaved. When I’m wanting a burger, which is maybe once every couple of weeks, I eat a frozen Ballpark brand burger.

20130128-235827.jpg

These take about one minute to cook in the microwave and they’re delicious and juicy. I pair it with my low calorie bread, fat free mayo, sliced tomato, lettuce, and steamed broccoli for a perfect and super fast dinner. Another product I came across just this weekend is frozen salmon.

20130129-000126.jpg

Each salmon is 5oz and 237 calories (give or take depending on the flavor). I had one of these with steamed broccoli and a small Yukon gold potato for dinner tonight. Yum yum!

Another thing I love about The Biggest Loser is when they have a chef come in and cook some healthy meals. This week their chef cooked a simple sweet potato stuffed with 2 different salsas, Greek yogurt to act as sour cream, and cooked ground turkey. They then showed the chef using other turkey products in the show. It’s nice to see that they’re using some of the same products I am. I love me some BLTs, so I’ve been making turkey BLTs for lunch a couple days a week. I have also been buying sliced deli turkey for my lunches as well. I haven’t always preferred turkey, I’m actually a ham lover, but recently I’ve preferred to have turkey or chicken over ham. I think that my taste buds are changing and adapting to healthy stuff again.

It’s great to see TBL showing that healthy can be affordable. I used to think it was cheaper to eat fast food just like the people on the show did. I used to spend about $30 a day sometimes on food. That’s about $210 a week! That’s a lot of money! With the extra cash so far, I’ve been able to pay off a doctor bill and put more money towards paying off my student loans. So it definitely shows, healthy is affordable, even if you think it isn’t. You can make it work! It just takes a little planning and effort.

~A healthy attitude is contagious but don’t wait to catch it from others. Be a carrier.~
-Tom Stoppard

4 thoughts on “The Biggest Loser: On A Budget

  1. Loving your quote! Goes alongside one of my favorites….

    No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.
    – Eleanor Roosevelt

  2. Lol! The more and more I read your blog the more I realize we have alot of similiar things me and you. I feel the same way about buying food thats convenient and microwavable. Ask my fiance about me and dishes because I hate washing dishes too so he washes them…. 🙂 lucky me.

    • Haha, very lucky you! Dishes for some reason are the worst chore…ever. Lol

      If you have any good, healthy microwaveable foods that you like, I always enjoy new suggestions! Glad to know I’m not the only one who cooks that way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

