Blueberry Pancake Peanut Butter

So I made homemade peanut butter for the first time last night! I saw this blog of a girl who makes a couple different flavors of nut butters each month and then sells them. I was really excited and wanted to buy her homemade nut butters this month. But, it was just my luck that she decided to take this month off from making them. I wanted some so badly that I decided I’ll make my own!

This recipe came from that girls blog, so I can’t take credit. But here’s the recipe:

2 cups unsalted peanuts
1 tsp maple extract
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup dried blueberries

That’s it! How simple. I can’t believe I haven’t made homemade nut butter before! Oh wait, yes I can. I’m lazy and I hate cleaning up, that’s why I’ve never made it before. 🙂

So what’d I use to make the peanut butter? Well I just so happen to have a $500 blender I bought at the fair….17 months ago….that I’ve never taken out of the box….that will make peanut butter! Double win: homemade peanut butter and I got to finally use my Vita-mix.

So to make the peanut butter is incredibly simple if you’ve got this machine at home. I literally tossed in the peanuts (4 cups because I doubled the recipe) and then turned on the Vita-mix, flipped the speed to high, and in ONE minute I had peanut butter.

20130210-154708.jpg

Next I added the 4 other ingredients until it was blended in. I used freeze dried blueberries because I couldn’t find regular dried blueberries.

20130210-154932.jpg

Total time was probably 2 minutes to make this peanut butter. Here’s the finished product!

20130210-155129.jpg

20130210-155220.jpg

Are you thinking, “That jar looks small and skinny. Can a spoon fit in there?” If that’s what you’re thinking then you are definitely smarter than I am. It’s actually a spice jar I bought at the spice store. In my head, I just saw a cute small jar. Didn’t even realize it was a spice jar even though I was in a spice store… Haha, sometimes I don’t put 2 and 2 together. Luckily, it worked out ok and you can (just barely) fit a spoon or fork in the jar.

I bet you’re wondering how it tastes. Well, it didn’t taste like blueberry pancakes. I know, total bubble burst… I decided to doctor it up a bit. I added some more maple extract and I found some dried blueberries at Target so I added lots of those as well. It still doesn’t taste exactly how I was expecting it to taste, but it’s good. It’s fresh homemade peanut butter which is better than store bought any day.

I’ve got a couple more recipes for homemade nut butters, such as brown sugar vanilla bean almond butter, that I’d love to try. So I’d say overall it was a pretty good first attempt. Not perfect, but I’d love to try it again just with a different flavor!

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Pancake Peanut Butter

    • I can’t believe I did it either, haha! It should definitely be your 26th goal. It’s soooooo easy! I’ll have to doctor up my 2 other jars of the peanut butter I made and then give you one. I can bring my vitamix over one day and we could totally try out some different nut butters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

