February Foodie Pen-Pal

I love being a FPP! It’s a lot of fun getting something in the mail every month, especially when it’s a box filled with food. For those of you who don’t know what FPP is, it’s a monthly program where you exchange foods with a pen-pal from somewhere else in the USA. Here’s a link to sign up or get more information. FPP

This month my box came from Debbie in South Carolina. Debbie is an awesome pen-pal! She chose to do a themed box which I thought was a great idea. Her theme was southern. Here’s a picture of what I got in my box.

20130228-194719.jpg

Inside was cornbread mix, biscuit mix, Pete’s hot sauce, chocolate covered sunflower seeds, moon pies, seasoned pinto beans, dried peaches, red pepper cracklins, quick grits, southern gold BBQ sauce, and old fashioned sugar cured country ham. I got a lot of stuff!

The thing I was most surprised about was the ham. I absolutely LOVE ham! In SC, Debbie said a common breakfast is ham, grits, and eggs. So this Saturday for breakfast, that’s exactly what I’ll be making!

The first thing I tried out of the box was the cracklins. I loved them. I enjoy having a small handful of pork rinds for a snack so these were great!

I was also excited about the BBQ sauce. Our BBQ sauces here in Tulsa are ketchup or tomato based and very sweet. I have always heard about Carolina BBQ sauce being vinegar based, so I was super excited to try it! It’s seriously so delicious! I posted about using it in my chicken apple sausage stir fry last week., which turned out amazing. I’m already brainstorming on how to use it next. I’m thinking with some grilled chicken or even make a dip using it.

When I saw the grits, I immediately thought of shrimp and grits. I found a healthy recipe on the Hungry Girl website. I ended up going to my dads on Sunday and trying it out. Here’s the finished shrimp and grits!

20130228-194952.jpg

Of course I like it a little spicy, so I added a few dashes of the Pete’s hot sauce to the dish. This hot sauce was yummy! Salty and spicy. 🙂

I haven’t had the chance to use everything in the box yet, but the things I’ve tried have all been great! I think I’ll enlist the BFF to help me find a way to use the dried peaches in a recipe.

This was a great FPP month! Debbie in South Carolina did a great job picking things out for me! And as I’ve said before, it’s a lot of fun! You should go check out the link above and sign up! 🙂

One thought on “February Foodie Pen-Pal

Leave a Reply

