The Dreaded Plateau

I seem to have hit a plateau in my weight loss. My doctor mentioned this would happen. He said that after losing some weight, your body would have to get used to your new weight, and kind of “catch up.”

I last weighed in on March 5th and was 324.9 pounds. I weighed again on March 10th and was 324.8 pounds. Since it was only a 0.1 pound difference, I decided to weight myself again the next morning. On the 11th, I still weighed 324.8 pounds. Determined to see some weight loss, I weighed again this morning. It was 325.9. I gained a pound!

I don’t normally weigh myself 3 days in a row, but since I wasn’t seeing any change, I felt compelled to weigh in every morning.

I can’t help but feel a little discouraged about this. In the beginning, my eating habits were boring and simple. I wasn’t using a lot of sauces or flavorings. I eventually started adding low calorie sauces or broths or spices to flavor the food I was eating because it had gotten extremely boring. (There’s only so much plain chicken you can eat before you get bored!)

I have also been putting everything I eat into a daily calorie tracker. I have stayed relatively consistent with my calorie intake being between 1800-1900 calories a day.

I’ve also been consistently working out twice a week. In the beginning, I wasn’t working out at all.

I feel a little lost right now. I’m wondering if I should go back to the boring, simple foods I was eating early on such as grilled chicken, brown rice, and steamed broccoli. I have been having a lot of fun making healthy foods and making them taste good by experimenting with different flavors, but is this why I’m not losing weight?

I’m also wondering if the answer to getting over this plateau is to workout more often. I work some long days during the week, and I’m usually tired and hungry after I get home, but maybe I should be getting in more exercise.

I know what the doctor said about there being a plateau, but I guess I never imagined it would affect me this way. I’m trying not to feel down, but I am. I just feel like I’ve worked so hard this past 3 months, and I don’t want to stop, because I have so much further to go in my journey.

6 thoughts on “The Dreaded Plateau

  1. Don’t feel discouraged! Stick with your plan. I told you about the time that I lost a couple of dress sizes and was so excited to weigh in because I felt like I must have lost many pounds. However, upon jumping on the scales at the dietician’s office, I find out that I have lost one pound. One pound over a period of eight weeks! She reminded me that I don’t go around with a scale on my back. My family, friends, and co-workers just see that I am looking smaller and healthier. She also reminded me that muscle takes up less space than fat, but weighs more. While I was building muscle by working out, I was possibly increasing the amount I weigh in the short-term, but also creating a much more efficient metabolism which would serve to burn more calories.

    Take a moment to reward yourself with a new workout outfit or something special and be determined to plow through the plateau!

  2. Don’t get discouraged!!! You are doing so great and being consistent in making healthy choices! These are such great habits to have and will be so great in the long run! I agree with Gail, go do something for yourself, manicure, pedicure, massage, a long walk in the park…whatever is it to get you feeling better! This will pass and you’ll be happy you stuck to your guns!

Leave a Reply

