Unwanted Snacking And How To Avoid It

Yesterday ended up being a bad day. Even after the plateau, it got worse… Last night, even after dinner, I COULDN’T stop snacking.

I ate dinner, then had a small bowl of cereal for my evening snack. I felt like I wasn’t satisfied, so I went looking in the cabinets for a snack. First I had a scoop of PB2 with vanilla and honey in it. Then, I had a single serving chicken noodle soup mix. Then, I had some almonds. And finally, I ate some hot beef jerky.

After I ate all of that, I was full! But as I was eating snack after snack, I got more annoyed with myself that I couldn’t get that satisfied feeling in my stomach.

So what’s my solution to this problem?

Well, I googled ways to stop from snacking and here are a few ideas/tips I’m going to try tonight.

Tip #1
Brush your teeth and then use whitener. Who wants to eat after they have a fresh clean mouth and whitener on their teeth? I’m sure no one does, so this sounds like a fool proof idea!

Tip #2
Treat yourself to scented candles. Some girl said she tried this and it worked! I’ve got lots of yummy scented candles so I’m trying this for sure tonight.

Tip #3
Instead of snack, have a drink. I’ve seen some really cool ideas for flavored waters on Pinterest.

20130313-185805.jpg

20130313-185903.jpg

I picked up some fruit earlier so that I can make some flavored water tonight! I got oranges, limes, and lemon to make a citrus water.

Tip #4
Don’t sit and watch TV. It makes you feel like you should be doing something, which usually means snacking. I watch too much TV, I know. So my plan is to do something else while I watch TV. Maybe pay my bills online, make lunch for the next day, do some cleaning, etc.

I’m going to use these tips tonight to help get me through another possible snack attack.

Also, I got some good advice on how to get past the plateau I’ve hit. I am doing something for myself! I bought a new pair of workout yoga pants online, along with a new shirt, a sports bra, and an active go dry tank all from Old Navy.

20130313-190032.jpg

20130313-190058.jpg

20130313-190139.jpg

20130313-190205.jpg

I’m excited to try out the new workout clothes, so I’d say this was just what I needed to pick myself up and not be down on myself. And to give myself that extra push, I chose a reward for when I hit the 50 pound weight loss goal! I’ve had my eye on some new tennis shoes by Sketchers, so I decided I’ll buy these new shoes when I hit 50 pounds!

20130313-190255.jpg

Don’t you just love them? They’re so bright, like a rainbow! šŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Unwanted Snacking And How To Avoid It

  1. Nice yoga pants! And I have the same problem when I watch TV, so I usually end up ironing or doing crossword puzzles. And those shoes are crazy! šŸ™‚

  2. Love the flavored water idea! You can always pull out your bucket list and start making progress toward that too. TV can be such a life suck. Maybe try having two nights a week without it altogether. Replace with music while you do something productive around the house. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

