Zucchini Lasagna

I made THE best lasagna this weekend! Seriously, you should be jealous. But lucky for those that I love that live near me, I brought them some too. šŸ™‚

I found the recipe on the same blog where I got the chicken enchilada zucchini boats recipe from. This girl has some seriously great recipes and you should go check out her blog here.

I made her zucchini lasagna. Remember how I was obsessed with everything zucchini? Well, I’m still obsessed with it and maybe even more obsessed with it after making this lasagna. It’s time consuming, but it makes 8 portions so there’s lots of leftovers so if you’re a single person like myself, it will last all week and then some.

So here’s how I made it.

First, I made the meat sauce.

20130317-173358.jpg

It’s basically just ground meat, garlic, onion, basil, canned tomatoes, and salt and pepper. I used canned San Marzano tomatoes, which are the best tomatoes. They are more expensive, but have a great flavor that makes it worth the extra money. The sauce simmered for about 45 minutes, which made it thicker, which is what you want for this recipe.

Next, I sliced the zucchini into sorta thin slices and spread them out on plates and salted them well. I waited about 15 minutes and then squeezed out the water from the zucchini. By salting the zucchini, you take out a lot of the moisture from the zucchini. This step is important because if you don’t do this, your lasagna will be watery.

Here’s the zucchini with the salt.

20130317-173520.jpg
And here it is after I squeezed the water out.

20130317-173632.jpg

The zucchini turns into a completely different texture.

Next, I mixed some ricotta with some Parmesan cheese and one egg. And last, I got out the shredded mozzarella cheese and now I have my 4 layers ready.

To assemble the lasagna, first you put down a thin layer of the meat sauce on the bottom of your baking dish. Next, you layer zucchini slices close together. Then you spread the ricotta mixture over the zucchini and top that with the mozzarella cheese. And repeat.

20130317-173758.jpg

The recipe said to end with meat sauce and then mozzarella cheese on top. All together, I had 10 layers. I baked it for about an hour, uncovered.

And here’s the lasagna right out of the oven.

20130317-173935.jpg
I let it cool for a bit and then wrapped it up and refrigerated it overnight. I cut it into 8 portions this morning while it was cold, so it was extremely easy to cut.

20130317-174113.jpg

Yum yum!

For 1/8 of the whole recipe, it’s 345 calories. I plan on having this for dinner with one piece of toast with garlic paste and a little salt and also a small side salad with yogurt dressing. All that is around 500 calories, which is perfect.

This recipe is most definitely a keeper! I’m sure I’ll be making it again very soon. šŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Zucchini Lasagna

  1. This dish is amazing! You really can’t tell that there is zucchini instead of noodles. So tasty and filling! Thanks for today’s lunch, Lindz!

  2. Yuuuuuummmmm! Pasta is so overrated! Another trick you may want to try is swapping the ricotta for fat free cottage cheese. I know, I know. Cottage cheese haters cringe. You can’t taste it though, and it is a fab substitute for fatty cheese. Love you and love this recipe!

    • You know, I hate cottage cheese. I’ve tried sooooo hard to like it. But I’m willing to give it a try in this recipe cause like you said, I’m sure I won’t taste it. I’ll be making this lasagna again soon, so I’ll try the swap and let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

