Father-Daughter Cooking: 2 Simple But Delicious Recipes

A couple Sunday’s ago, my dad and I cooked a very delicious lunch. Unfortunately, I forgot to post about it. Well….better late than never!

I usually come up with an idea or recipe to make on Sundays and my dad just goes along with it. I love how easy going and go with the flow he is. This particular Sunday, Sandy (my step-mom) suggested something shrimp. I racked my brain for the perfect healthy shrimp recipe and decided on red curry shrimp and vegetables over rice! Why? Well because I currently had a can of coconut milk and an unopened container of red curry in my cabinet. 🙂

There was a recipe on the side of the can of coconut milk so I decided to (for the most part) follow that recipe. As I was reading the recipe, I also read the nutrition facts. I was shocked to see how many calories are in coconut milk! I clearly bought this before I started my weight loss journey. The can had a total of 720 calories. I decided that I didn’t want to waste so many calories just on the coconut milk, so I went out and bought a can of light coconut milk. The light has only 250 calories in the whole can.

We decided to make a large batch of curry, so I ended up using one can of regular coconut milk and one can of light coconut milk to make it a little healthier.

Since my dad isn’t a huge seafood lover, I decided to also add chicken to the curry. I was going to use regular chicken breasts and just cut them into bite size pieces and brown them in a sauté pan. BUT, I came across the perfect idea at Whole Foods. As I was purchasing some turkey sausage for my stuffed acorn squash recipe I made a couple weeks ago, I saw that Whole Foods had some chicken sausages at their meat counter. Then I saw that they had a Thai peanut chicken sausage. How incredibly perfect was that?! It’s like it was meant to be.

20130403-224515.jpg

It’s hard to tell in the picture, but they’re kind of yellow (from the spices) and you can see the peanuts through the casing. I was excited to try them out!

But first, here is the recipe I used for the curry.

Kirk And Lindsay’s Famous Red Curry

2 cans coconut milk
4 tbs red curry paste
2 tbs brown sugar
1 tbs red pepper flakes
1 pound shrimp
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
3 tbs fish sauce
1 small can bamboo shoots
1 small can water chestnuts
1/2 yellow squash, sliced
1 chopped green bell pepper
1 chopped yellow bell pepper
2 Thai peanut chicken sausages
Cooked jasmine rice

Cook the chicken sausage in a sauté pan over medium heat until it’s cooked through. Let cool and then cut into slices. Set aside until ready to add in at the end.

20130403-224753.jpg

20130403-224829.jpg

It’s pretty much impossible to make the fat sausages look like anything but fat sausages on a plate. But trust me, they were outstanding! I enjoyed the peanuts in them a lot. I plan on picking up some more of these chicken sausages in the future to eat by themselves. Ok, back to the recipe!

While the sausage is cooking, bring the coconut milk to a simmer in a large soup pot. Add curry and brown sugar. Simmer for 5-10 minutes. Add red pepper flakes, bamboo shoots, water chestnuts, all of the bell pepper, and squash and cook for 3 minutes. Add shrimp and cook until shrimp is done maybe 8 minutes. Stir in cilantro, fish sauce, and cooked chicken sausage. Heat for another minute, then serve over cooked jasmine rice.

20130403-225057.jpg

20130403-225231.jpg

20130403-225320.jpg

20130403-225605.jpg

20130403-225652.jpg

20130403-225734.jpg

We served the curry up with a side of steamed broccoli and a glass of iced blueberry tea. Mmmm, I love blueberry tea. Here’s how to make it!

You need one tea bag of regular tea (such as Lipton), one blueberry tea bag (such as Celestial), and one cup of sugar or Splenda. We of course use Splenda.

Boil water like you would for regular tea. Steep both of the tea bags for 5-10 minutes in the hot water. Add sugar to a 2 quart pitcher, then add the tea water, then fill with cold water. Stir. Drink. Smile at the taste of the yummy goodness.

My dad makes this tea for us every Sunday. It’s seriously my favorite tea ever. I have never been a huge fan of fruit flavored teas in the past, but this one tastes like blueberry and tea were meant to go together. Like peas and carrots. Like peanut butter and jelly. Like biscuits and gravy. Like chips and salsa. Like…..ok, you get it.

If you only ever make one thing from my blog, then make the zucchini lasagna. But if you ever make two things, make this blueberry tea! 🙂

One thought on “Father-Daughter Cooking: 2 Simple But Delicious Recipes

Leave a Reply

