Saturday…. aka My Longest Post Ever

I finally got the time to write about my weekend trip and I’m excited to tell you all about it. We did a lot in those 2 short weekend days, so I’m going to split it up. Today, I’ll tell you all about last Saturday.

First, we drove down to Dallas from Tulsa. It took a little over 4 hours and the time flew by because I was enjoying spending time with my mom and grandma. Once we got there, we checked into our hotel where my sister picked us up to go get our hair did.

This was my first time seeing my sister pregnant, and let me tell you, she’s the cutest pregnant person ever! Seriously, adorable! I’m not just saying that because she’s my sister either. 🙂

We went to Hair Bar to get our hair done. It’s great because they wash and dry your hair and then fix it all pretty while you sit there and relax. Not a bad deal. Here are some pics I took while we got our hair done.

20130409-195523.jpg
20130409-195601.jpg
20130409-195707.jpg

That last picture makes me laugh. In that picture, you can see how pissed my grandma is. She didn’t want anything done to her hair and she hated it afterwards, but we all thought her hair looked good.

And the finished products!

20130409-200425.jpg
20130409-200545.jpg
20130409-200734.jpg

See what I mean about the cutest pregnant person ever?! 🙂

After that, we went to lunch at a place called R & D. I am a horrible blogger and forgot to take a picture of my lunch, but it was so good that I wanna tell you about it. I had the Thai tuna sushi. In the roll, there was tuna, jalapeño, coconut flakes, avocado, and toasted macadamia nuts. It was nice to have a unique sushi roll, one that I can’t find in Tulsa. I’d love to go back there and try their other rolls!

After lunch, we headed over to the baby shower. Someone had put together a super cute diaper cake for my sister.

20130409-201103.jpg

And there were some yummy foods like sun dried tomato mini sandwiches, hummus dip with veggies, stuffed strawberries, little quiches, and a beautiful fruit tart with lemon and mixed berries.

Here are some pics from the baby shower.

20130409-201450.jpg
20130409-201641.jpg
20130409-201726.jpg

I didn’t get any pictures of my sister opening up her gifts because I was the official gift writer downer, but she got a lot of good stuff. Here’s a picture of the super cute quilt her mother-in-law made for her.

20130409-201902.jpg

After the baby shower, my sister went home to relax for a little bit while my mom, my grandma, and I went to North Park Mall to do a little shopping. We hit up about 5 different stores, all of which we don’t have in Tulsa, so that was fun.

Lush was my favorite store, surprise surprise. I picked up some lotion, face and body scrub, face masks, soaps, lip scrub, and toothpaste tablets.

My favorite is their Karma Cream lotion. To me, it smells like a mix of play-doh, sugar cookie, and patchouli oil. Sounds weird, but it totally works together!

After shopping, we headed over to my sisters house for dinner. We made the 7 and 1/2 months pregnant woman cook for us. Not because we didn’t want to help, but because we had no idea what exactly she was making and neither did she!

My sister is like a mad scientist in the kitchen. She just starts getting random foods out of the fridge and brainstorms an idea for dinner. She’s pretty awesome like that. I’m not gonna lie, when I saw all the ingredients sitting out for dinner I thought, “What the heck are we eating for dinner?”

We ended up having veal scaloppine stuffed and rolled up with red bell pepper, zucchini, and basil served over marinara sauce with a side of truffled spaghetti squash with Parmesan cheese. Oh, and a side of roasted beets with sautéed nectarines.

20130409-202221.jpg

20130409-202330.jpg

I love eating what my sister cooks! She’s so creative and uses ingredients I don’t cook with often. And she always cooks healthy and delicious! I loved the spaghetti squash so much that I ended up making her recipe Sunday night for my weekly dinner, so I’ll be having truffled spaghetti squash all week. 🙂
Yum!

After dinner (or maybe before dinner, I can’t remember!) my sister gave me a gift. It was a necklace in the shape of a flower using only the heart shape.

20130409-202539.jpg

The flower is me and the leaf is Ethan. She said that she wanted me to have something special that reminds me of him when I’m back in Tulsa. I thought this was extremely sweet of my sister. I love the necklace and I love things that have meaning, so that makes it even more special. 🙂 Best. Sister. Ever.

We left my sisters house around 10:30 and headed back to the hotel. We were all pretty exhausted, but we had just enough energy left to wash our faces and put on face masks before bed.

We used the fresh face masks we’d gotten from Lush earlier. My mom used the oatflix mask which has oats, honey, ground almonds, and mashed bananas. I used the love lettuce mask which has seaweed, ground almonds, lavender oil, kaolin, and honey.

20130409-202919.jpg

You can’t tell that my mom even has a mask on!

And our silly faces…..

20130409-203025.jpg

Saturday was a fun day! It was great seeing my sister and getting to spend time together with just us girls. Sunday was great too, but you’ll have to wait until my next post for that. This post is already ridiculously long. You should get a reward for making it to the end! How does a high-five sound? 🙂

6 thoughts on “Saturday…. aka My Longest Post Ever

  1. I was able to catch up with Steve on Saturday night and he said that you looked fantastic! I love the new picture…looking good, lady!

Leave a Reply

Saturday…. aka My Longest Post Ever

I finally got the time to write about my weekend trip and I’m excited to tell you all about it. We did a lot in those 2 short weekend days, so I’m going to split it up. Today, I’ll tell you all about last Saturday.

First, we drove down to Dallas from Tulsa. It took a little over 4 hours and the time flew by because I was enjoying spending time with my mom and grandma. Once we got there, we checked into our hotel where my sister picked us up to go get our hair did.

This was my first time seeing my sister pregnant, and let me tell you, she’s the cutest pregnant person ever! Seriously, adorable! I’m not just saying that because she’s my sister either. 🙂

We went to Hair Bar to get our hair done. It’s great because they wash and dry your hair and then fix it all pretty while you sit there and relax. Not a bad deal. Here are some pics I took while we got our hair done.

20130409-195523.jpg
20130409-195601.jpg
20130409-195707.jpg

That last picture makes me laugh. In that picture, you can see how pissed my grandma is. She didn’t want anything done to her hair and she hated it afterwards, but we all thought her hair looked good.

And the finished products!

20130409-200425.jpg
20130409-200545.jpg
20130409-200734.jpg

See what I mean about the cutest pregnant person ever?! 🙂

After that, we went to lunch at a place called R & D. I am a horrible blogger and forgot to take a picture of my lunch, but it was so good that I wanna tell you about it. I had the Thai tuna sushi. In the roll, there was tuna, jalapeño, coconut flakes, avocado, and toasted macadamia nuts. It was nice to have a unique sushi roll, one that I can’t find in Tulsa. I’d love to go back there and try their other rolls!

After lunch, we headed over to the baby shower. Someone had put together a super cute diaper cake for my sister.

20130409-201103.jpg

And there were some yummy foods like sun dried tomato mini sandwiches, hummus dip with veggies, stuffed strawberries, little quiches, and a beautiful fruit tart with lemon and mixed berries.

Here are some pics from the baby shower.

20130409-201450.jpg
20130409-201641.jpg
20130409-201726.jpg

I didn’t get any pictures of my sister opening up her gifts because I was the official gift writer downer, but she got a lot of good stuff. Here’s a picture of the super cute quilt her mother-in-law made for her.

20130409-201902.jpg

After the baby shower, my sister went home to relax for a little bit while my mom, my grandma, and I went to North Park Mall to do a little shopping. We hit up about 5 different stores, all of which we don’t have in Tulsa, so that was fun.

Lush was my favorite store, surprise surprise. I picked up some lotion, face and body scrub, face masks, soaps, lip scrub, and toothpaste tablets.

My favorite is their Karma Cream lotion. To me, it smells like a mix of play-doh, sugar cookie, and patchouli oil. Sounds weird, but it totally works together!

After shopping, we headed over to my sisters house for dinner. We made the 7 and 1/2 months pregnant woman cook for us. Not because we didn’t want to help, but because we had no idea what exactly she was making and neither did she!

My sister is like a mad scientist in the kitchen. She just starts getting random foods out of the fridge and brainstorms an idea for dinner. She’s pretty awesome like that. I’m not gonna lie, when I saw all the ingredients sitting out for dinner I thought, “What the heck are we eating for dinner?”

We ended up having veal scaloppine stuffed and rolled up with red bell pepper, zucchini, and basil served over marinara sauce with a side of truffled spaghetti squash with Parmesan cheese. Oh, and a side of roasted beets with sautéed nectarines.

20130409-202221.jpg

20130409-202330.jpg

I love eating what my sister cooks! She’s so creative and uses ingredients I don’t cook with often. And she always cooks healthy and delicious! I loved the spaghetti squash so much that I ended up making her recipe Sunday night for my weekly dinner, so I’ll be having truffled spaghetti squash all week. 🙂
Yum!

After dinner (or maybe before dinner, I can’t remember!) my sister gave me a gift. It was a necklace in the shape of a flower using only the heart shape.

20130409-202539.jpg

The flower is me and the leaf is Ethan. She said that she wanted me to have something special that reminds me of him when I’m back in Tulsa. I thought this was extremely sweet of my sister. I love the necklace and I love things that have meaning, so that makes it even more special. 🙂 Best. Sister. Ever.

We left my sisters house around 10:30 and headed back to the hotel. We were all pretty exhausted, but we had just enough energy left to wash our faces and put on face masks before bed.

We used the fresh face masks we’d gotten from Lush earlier. My mom used the oatflix mask which has oats, honey, ground almonds, and mashed bananas. I used the love lettuce mask which has seaweed, ground almonds, lavender oil, kaolin, and honey.

20130409-202919.jpg

You can’t tell that my mom even has a mask on!

And our silly faces…..

20130409-203025.jpg

Saturday was a fun day! It was great seeing my sister and getting to spend time together with just us girls. Sunday was great too, but you’ll have to wait until my next post for that. This post is already ridiculously long. You should get a reward for making it to the end! How does a high-five sound? 🙂

Leave a Reply

