The Veggie Burger’s New Dream: Be More Like Meat

Veggie burgers are quickly becoming one of my new favorite things. They’re fairly simple to make and can be customized to include ingredients you like or prefer.

The restaurant Mooyah has a great veggie burger which I love to eat as an iceburger (wrapped in iceberg lettuce instead of a bun). This “burger” is becoming one of my new favorite things to eat when I go out for lunch or dinner.

So last Sunday, I was excited when the BFF mentioned how she had a Greek black bean veggie burger recipe she’d been wanting to try. As you know, we cook together every other Sunday and we always try a new recipe or two that we’ve never made.

Last weekend, we chose to make the Greek veggie burgers and zucchini fritters.

I’ll start with the zucchini fritters because they’re just so easy to make and very tasty! Before I tell you how to make them, I must give credit to Anna. She made these a few weekends ago for my sisters baby shower and she told me the recipe, and I knew I’d be making them myself because they were yummy and easy! Thanks Anna!

Ok, here’s the recipe!

Zucchini Fritters

2 cups grated zucchini (2 zucchinis)
1/2 cup unseasoned breadcrumbs
1/2 cup grated Parmesan
1/2 cup chopped white onion
2 eggs

First, you grate the zucchini and then put it into a colander and salt it to release the liquid. Don’t salt it too much like I did or your fritters will be too salty. After about 10 minutes, ring out the liquid from the zucchini.

Put the zucchini into a bowl. Add the remaining ingredients and stir until well combined.

Use a tablespoon to scoop out the fritters and place onto a sheet pan that’s been covered with foil and sprayed with nonstick cooking spray.

I believe we baked them at 375 or 400 degrees for 18-20 minutes. You’ll know when they’re done because they’ll be firm and golden brown.

20130429-112914.jpg

20130429-113035.jpg

20130429-113211.jpg

While I was making these fritters, Megan was hard at work making the Greek veggie burgers. Here’s the recipe!

Greek Black Bean Veggie Burgers

2 and 3/4 cup canned black beans, divided
1 and 1/4 cup cooked quinoa
1/4 cup hummus
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled
1/2 cup onion, diced
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
1/2 to 1 tsp Greek seasoning

Put 2 cups of the black beans in a food processor and process until pretty smooth. Scoop out the puréed black beans and put into a large mixing bowl. Add the quinoa, hummus, garlic, onion, breadcrumbs, and Greek seasoning and stir until combined.

Next, stir in the remaining black beans that you didn’t purée and the crumbled feta cheese. Form into burger patties (makes 6-8) and then bake in a 400 degree oven for 18 minutes, flipping once halfway through.

Megan opted to add in chopped up kalamata olives to hers, which made it even more Greek. I don’t like olives, so I had mine without.

20130429-113539.jpg

20130429-113644.jpg

20130429-113744.jpg

20130429-113843.jpg

20130429-113944.jpg

I topped mine with Swiss cheese, lettuce, tomato, and just a smear of grey poupon. Sorry I don’t have an “after” picture. I was hungry and dug into my burger quickly. It sure was good though!

I thought this recipe was great. I loved how the burgers looked like meat in the bowl once everything was mixed together. My only suggestion is that next time I’d use more seasoning. I think I’d either increase the amount of the Greek seasoning or add in some fresh herbs such as oregano or cilantro to enhance the flavor.

I love our Sunday night get togethers! It’s so much fun trying out new recipes often. If any of you have a recipe to share that Megan and I could make, send it to me! We’re always looking for new ideas!

Hope you enjoyed!

6 thoughts on “The Veggie Burger’s New Dream: Be More Like Meat

Leave a Reply

