Cinco De Mayo With A Real Mexican

I celebrated Cinco De Mayo with my dad and step-mom who is from Mexico. I was in charge of making the enchiladas while my step-mom made her authentic elotes (or Mexican corn).

This enchilada recipe was simple and very tasty!

Here’s the recipe:

Lindsay’s Chicken And Green Enchiladas

18 small corn tortillas
1 rotisserie chicken, deboned and shredded
1/2 yellow onion, diced
1/2 pablano, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
1/2 zucchini, diced
1/2 large jalapeño, diced
1/3 packet of taco seasoning
Queso fresco
Cotija cheese
1 bottle of Trader Joes enchilada sauce
1/2 cup cilantro

First, I added the diced onions, zucchini, pablano, jalapeño, and green bell pepper to a large pot that I sprayed with non-stick spray.

Sauté them until almost soft, then add 1/2 cup water or so to the pan.

Add in the shredded chicken.

Add in the taco seasoning, salt and pepper to taste, and a couple table spoons of the enchilada sauce. (I didn’t want it to be dry, so I added another splash of water to give it some moisture.) Once it’s heated through, turn it off.

Turn on oven to 400 degrees.

Put enchilada sauce in small sauce pan and heat up until warm.

Spray a griddle with non-stick cooking spray. Heat the corn tortillas on both sides. Take off the griddle and put on a plate. Add filling to the tortilla, then roll up and place seam side down in a large pan.

This made 18 enchiladas. Cover the enchiladas with the enchilada sauce. Top with as much queso fresco and cotija cheese as desired.

Put in oven for about 5 minutes.

Take out of the oven, top with cilantro and Mexican sour cream if desired, then eat.

20130505-173044.jpg

20130505-173236.jpg

20130505-173358.jpg

20130505-173434.jpg

20130505-173526.jpg

20130505-173607.jpg

20130505-173636.jpg

20130505-173734.jpg

20130505-173813.jpg

20130505-173932.jpg

20130505-174003.jpg

I call these Lindsay’s chicken and green enchiladas because the filling is pretty much all green, and clearly they’re not green on the outside, so I thought I’d explain. 🙂

With our delicious enchiladas, my step-mom made elotes, which is Mexican corn. It’s a very popular street food in Mexico.

She boiled cobs of corn with some green stuff that I can’t remember what she called it, but it gives the corn a unique flavor.

20130505-174148.jpg

After that, she cuts the corn off the cobs. In Mexico, they serve the elotes in styrofoam cups, so that’s how we had it today.

She assembles the elotes by putting in a layer of corn, Mexican mayonnaise, chili powder, cotija cheese, then repeats the same four layers.

20130505-174333.jpg

It’s not traditional, but I topped mine with cilantro. But it is traditional to squeeze a lot of lime on top. Then you stir and eat.

20130505-174424.jpg

This corn is one of the first authentic Mexican foods I’ve had since Sandy came here. I absolutely loved it the first time I had it. If you’ve never tried it, I suggest you do. Luckily we have a few Mexican restaurants and stores that sell it here, so it’s easy to find.

The only thing that could make this Cinco De Mayo better is a margarita, and luckily the Skinny Girl drink line has a white peach margarita, and I’ve got a bottle that is calling my name!

3 thoughts on “Cinco De Mayo With A Real Mexican

  1. Pingback: A Few Things | Say No To Bacon

Leave a Reply

