Weekends: Can’t Live With Them, Can’t Live Without Them

I don’t know why weekends are so much harder to eat healthy. I guess it’s because I don’t have a set routine on the weekends. I sleep in later. Or I am out and about running errands. Or I’m hanging out with my family. I eat out more on weekends, and this weekend was no exception.

I had BBQ on Friday night. I got the beer can chicken with vinegar based slaw. I decided since those 2 items were pretty healthy, I could have one unhealthy side, and I chose the house made chips with peach ketchup.

Saturday, I took my mom out for lunch for mothers day after we enjoyed facials at the salon. We went to an Asian fusion restaurant where I had Pho. I had been wanting to try Pho for a while now. It’s a delicious broth filled with rice noodles and thinly sliced beef. It comes with a plate of add ins such as bean sprouts, cilantro, basil, lime, and jalapeños. You can also add hoisin and sriracha. Pho is amazingly delicious! The broth is super flavorful and it’s definitely something I can’t wait to have again.

Since I felt like I’d eaten a lot on Friday and Saturday, I made myself a taco salad for dinner Saturday night, filled with lettuce, tomato, onion, a little cheese, salsa, and ground turkey taco meat.

Sunday, my step-dad made lunch for mothers day. We had ribs, green beans, sliced tomatoes, corn on the cob, small baked potatoes, and my Asian coleslaw. I felt like for the most part, this was not too bad of a meal choice.

For dinner on Sunday, I was tired and knew I had a long Monday ahead of me, so I picked up some pre made sushi to have for dinner.

Monday’s eating wasn’t good. I had a spicy turkey with cranberry crepe for lunch with a side salad. I also had a Thai flavored gelato. It was mango, pineapple, and coconut. It was delicious and tasted like I was on the beaches of Mexico.

20130514-132319.jpg

20130514-132401.jpg

20130514-132418.jpg

For dinner I had a pizza from Top That Pizza.

After all of this eating out over the weekend, I was dreading the scale this morning. Even though I spent about 6 hours cleaning my apartment yesterday (which I’d say was a good workout) I still gained weight. Not that I was expecting to lose weight or anything, it just showed me how easily the weight can go back on. And by easily, I mean EASILY. That was definitely a wake up call, one I desperately needed.

Leave a Reply

