2 Weeks And Counting

I just realized that I have officially gone 2 weeks without drinking diet pop or drinks that are flavored artificially.

Here’s my experience with giving it up over the past 2 weeks.

On days 1 and 2, I had pretty strong headaches. Also on the first 2 days, I found myself wanting to hit up Sonic happy hour for a diet pop. It was my usual routine to get a drink almost every afternoon. I felt that by having the diet pop to drink, it was easier to get from lunch to dinner without wanting to cheat on my diet.

I also noticed for the first week or so, I was really tired. I found myself falling asleep on the couch while watching tv. I felt very sluggish.

By days 7 and 8, I had stopped thinking about picking up an afternoon soda completely. It was becoming a habit to get an ice water at the drive through or to bring bottled water with me in the car everyday.

On day 14, yesterday, I hadn’t even realized until the end of the day that I’d gone a full 2 weeks without diet pop. I’m not even missing the stuff!

Some changes I’ve noticed are that in the beginning, I was really thirsty. Obviously, I was dehydrated. Although I was thirsty, it was hard to have only water to go to for a drink. Water was boring and didn’t taste very good. Even though I was thirsty, I wanted diet pop to quench my thirst.

Now, when I’m thirsty, I crave water. It’s weird to me because it’s been a looooooonnngggg time since I’ve craved water. I almost forgot the feeling of enjoying water.

As far as replacing diet pop, my MAIN drink now is water. I also have skim milk in my cereal in the morning and at night. Occasionally, I’ll have an iced tea. Who knew I could love the taste of tea without sugar?! I don’t think I even knew what tea tasted like before because I put so much sugar in it!

I’m still debating on whether I’m going to use stevia every now and then to sweeten things. I like a small glass of unsweetened almond milk at night sometimes with just a squirt of stevia extract. I think having one little squirt of stevia a couple times a week isn’t too bad, especially when compared to how much artificial sweetener I used to have.

I’ll do some more research and see what I come up with. I recently read a little about coconut palm sugar. It’s supposed to be low on the glycemic index, but it still has the same amount of calories as sugar. Eh, I think I’ll stick with my water and un-sweet tea for now. It’s working so why fix something that’s not broken. 🙂

Leave a Reply

