Jazzercise + What I’ve Been Eating This Week

The first time I went to a jazzercise class, I was probably around age 13 or 14. I can’t really remember exactly how old I was. But I DO remember that I really enjoyed going. My mom used to take me with her and we’d go a few times a week (maybe?) after school for me and after work for her.

Jazzercise was a lot of fun because although it definitely was exercise, it didn’t feel like it. They played current and good music that we’d jazzercise to and the hour long class would fly by.

I recently decided to try out a jazzercise class again. You see, my schedule during the week makes it hard to get to ANY exercise classes because my work days are so long and so late. So when I got off early one weekday, I hopped on the opportunity to go try out a jazzercise class again for the first time in a looonnggg time.

I asked the BFF, Megan, if she wanted to go (because we both share a love for jazzercise) and she said yes, so we went!

The class was a lot of fun and definitely a good workout. It’s an hour long class with about 10 minutes of warm up, about 30 minutes of cardio, and about 20 minutes of toning and cool down. They played good music such as Rihanna, Michael Bublé, One Direction, Lady Gaga, etc.

By the end of the hour, I was exhausted and very sweaty, so I know I burned a lot of calories.

This past Monday I was off work, so I again jumped on the opportunity to go to another class. The second class was similar to the first, but the instructor was different and we did a lot of different moves, so it was great to see the variety.

After class, I told the ladies at the check-in desk that I’d probably only be able to come once a week. They let the owner know and she emailed me with a special rate that I could have since I wouldn’t be coming often.

With that said, I’ve decided to join jazzercise! I’ll be going every Saturday morning at 9:20. I’ll also get to go on holidays that I’m off work, so if they’re open on Memorial day Monday, I’ll be there!

I’m really excited to have found an exercise that I love and can do somewhat regularly. By having a set time I exercise every week, I think I’ll be more apt to actually exercise and the class will also hold me accountable. 🙂

Along with my exercising, I’ve been eating really great this week! Here’s what I’ve been eating.

For breakfast, I’m still having a bowl of Cheerios with skim milk every morning. I cut out the berries in my cereal because I just prefer it without.

Lunch this week is an avocado chicken salad sandwich on paleo bread. I got the bread from my sister this past weekend. She got it from a bakery in Dallas called Unrefined. The bread is great, tastes great, and only has 2 grams of carbs per slice!

I got the chicken avocado salad recipe here.

Basically, I cut about 3 ounces of rotisserie chicken into small cubes. I added 1 stalk of sliced green onion, 2 tablespoons of minced yellow onion, 1/2 of an avocado (mashed), the juice of half a lime, maybe a tablespoon of chopped cilantro, and a nice pinch of sea salt. I mixed everything together in a bowl while mashing the avocado into chicken. It turned out great! Tastes like guacamole with chicken in it. Yum!

With my sandwich, I had a pre-made Caesar side salad. It’s a great lunch combo and keeps me full until snack time.

Snack is a Siggi’s non-fat yogurt (I like the orange ginger flavor) and a package of pre-sliced apples. Depending on how the day is going, I might also have some almonds or green beans with my snack.

Dinner this week has been super delicious. I made individual turkey meat-loafs and served them with cauliflower purée, roasted acorn squash, and steamed snow peas.

20130523-125007.jpg

20130523-125119.jpg

20130523-125214.jpg

20130523-125303.jpg

Putting this dinner together was incredibly simple. I like cooking everything ahead of time and then reheating it throughout the week for dinner.

This dinner comes in at about 420 calories total for one individual turkey loaf topped with reduced sugar ketchup, one cup steamed snow peas with 1 teaspoon of olive oil, 1/4 of an acorn squash, and 2 cups of frozen cauliflower that’s been roasted and puréed with skim milk. That’s a lot of filling food!

I’m still trying my best to cut out my evening snack choice of a bowl of Cheerios. Instead, last night, I had a couple tablespoons of some homemade chocolate chip cookie dough nut butter. Doesn’t that sound freaking delicious?! Well trust me, it is! And it’s healthy too because I don’t add any sugar to it (besides the chocolate chips which I don’t add that many). It’s crazy how you can make nuts taste like cookie dough!

20130523-125534.jpg

This brings up something I’ve been thinking about lately. I want to start a business making my own unique flavored nut butters! It’s something I really enjoy doing! When I’m bored, I just go into the kitchen and see what flavor I can come up with. Who knows, maybe this business will come to life soon. Megan and I talked a little bit about it recently, so I’ll just have to keep you updated on the potential business progress! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Jazzercise + What I’ve Been Eating This Week

Leave a Reply

