I Said YES…To Bacon

I love BBQ. It’s just delicious. There is so much flavor in BBQ. And the sauce…you can’t not mention the sauce. Who doesn’t love a sweet and salty and tangy and spicy BBQ sauce?

I’ve been eating a lot of BBQ lately. Not really on purpose, but it just sorta happened that way. I went out for a birthday dinner with my church to Rib Crib, my step-dad has grilled ribs twice recently (in which I was there both times), and then I went out with some friends to lunch at a different BBQ place last Saturday.

All of the BBQ was great. My step-dad makes some killer ribs! They’re salty and flavorful and just moist and delicious. His ribs are hard to beat.

But the BBQ I’m going to tell you about right now is from a place here in Tulsa called Burn Co. It’s a small little place that’s only open from 10:30-2:30, or until they run out of food. It’s pretty popular for the 4 hours they’re open. We got there at 10:20 and there were already 3 people in line waiting outside. By the time they opened at 10:30, there were about 15 people in line.

When they finally opened up (that 10 minutes of wait time was brutal, it smelled so good even from outside!) we were immediately offered food. While looking at the menu and thinking about what to order, they handed out rib samples, smoked sausage samples, bologna samples, and a huge slice of “the fatty” to sample. “The fatty” is a sausage wrapped in ground sausage wrapped in bacon and then smoked. It was goooooood!

I sampled both “the fatty” and the ribs and was torn between what to order. Luckily my friend Kara was torn too and we decided to get one of each and share. Perfect!

Here’s “the fatty.”

20130605-122445.jpg

And here are the ribs.

20130605-122637.jpg

The ribs were great! They had a spiciness to them that I really enjoyed. They were super flavorful and easy to eat.

The sides with the BBQ were great as well. I had the grilled potato salad, which was amazing. It was filled with potatoes, red onions, green bell peppers, and bacon.

Kara had the smoked Mac N Cheese. I thought it was ok. I didn’t love the smokey flavor on it, but everyone else enjoyed it.

Overall, I absolutely adored this little hole-in-the-wall BBQ place! I’ll be going back for sure.

And since this is a blog about weight loss, I should probably mention that even though I went out and had BBQ, I still feel like I did it in moderation. I had 4 ribs (including the sample rib I had), 3 bites of “the fatty”, a side of grilled potato salad, one bite of the mac and cheese, and un-sweet tea to drink. I felt full but not stuffed or gross by any means.

I did, however, have a feeling of guilt afterwards, so I just made sure I went to jazzercise the next morning. So instead of beating myself up about having one not so great meal, I went and exercised to burn it off.

This feeling of guilt is something new to me and I must say I like it! It keeps me in check with what I’m eating, when before I never even cared one bit. I think this feeling is something that slowly changes in you over time as you start to eat healthy MOST of the time. It’s like it’s your body’s way of saying “don’t lose everything you’ve worked so hard for by eating this pint of moose tracks ice cream.”

I wonder, do any of you have this same feeling of guilt? If so, does it work for you? As in, does it help you make better choices?

3 thoughts on “I Said YES…To Bacon

Leave a Reply

