Two SUPER Simple “Recipes”

I say “recipes” because these two things I’m about to show you are soooooooo easy. But, they’re also delicious, healthy, and really quick!

The first is my new favorite salad. Let’s call it, Lindsay’s Grilled Chicken Salad. All of my recipes have my name in them for some reason. I guess if I put my name in it, then it’s my way of saying “I, Lindsay, Stroud, invented this.” It kind of makes me feel famous. 🙂

Anyways, back to the recipe!

Lindsay’s Grilled Chicken Salad

2 cups of chopped green leaf lettuce
4 ounces of grilled chicken, sliced
1 hard boiled egg white, sliced
1/8 cup of shredded cheddar cheese
2 tablespoons of cooked bacon
6 cheery tomatoes
2 stalks of green onion, sliced
1/3 cup of pineapple, sliced

Put the lettuce on the plate or bowl first. Then, add all of the other toppings. I like to arrange mine so it looks pretty.

20130621-002946.jpg

I serve this salad with 3 tablespoons of light balsamic vinaigrette. There is seriously something amazing about having the sweet pineapple with the salty balsamic dressing. The second day I had this salad for lunch, I ended up adding more pineapple to my salad because I just loved the pineapple in there so much. And of course, it wouldn’t be a salad without hard boiled eggs. Yum!

The next “recipe” is a ridiculously easy snack. I’ve had it for my afternoon snack every single day this week.

It’s zucchini pizza bites and I got the idea from Gina over at skinnytaste.com.

Here’s the recipe!

Zucchini Pizza Bites

1/3 of a zucchini, sliced into 8 or 9 slices
1/8 cup of marinara sauce
1/4 cup low fat shredded mozzarella cheese
Coconut oil spray (or oil spray of choice)

First, spray a sauté pan with oil spray and turn on to medium-high heat. Add zucchini slices and spray oil again on top of zucchini slices. Sauté a few minutes on each side or until browned to your liking.

20130621-003226.jpg

Once browned, take out of pan and place on a microwavable plate. Top each zucchini with a little of the marinara sauce.

20130621-003402.jpg

Then, top each zucchini with the shredded mozzarella cheese.

20130621-003512.jpg

Heat in the microwave for 10-20 seconds or until cheese is melted.

20130621-003630.jpg

Be careful as they will be hot right out of the microwave. Once cooled off, eat and enjoy!

This afternoon snack has quickly become one of my favorites. As far as calories go, the zucchini has 11 calories, the cheese has 80 calories, and the marinara sauce has 18 calories for a total of 109 calories. The way I cut my zucchini, I usually get 8-9 pizza bites. Add some sliced pineapple and some kale chips and it’s the perfect 225 calorie snack!

Leave a Reply

