Pizza For Breakfast? Yes, Please!

First, I must say (as if you didn’t already know), I LOVE pizza.

You know those frozen pizzas at the grocery store? I used to easily eat a whole pizza by myself.

You know those fast food pizza restaurants? I used to order from them weekly.

You know those frozen breakfast pizzas?

20130629-145747.jpg

Yeah, the ones pictured above. I used to eat those for breakfast all the time.

That frozen breakfast pizza came out of my freezer. I was eating those up until the day I started my healthy eating change. That frozen breakfast pizza is in the trash now.

I’ve replaced that unhealthy, processed, and fattening breakfast pizza with my own homemade breakfast pizza.

Just like any other pizza, the toppings for a breakfast pizza are your choice. I’ve made it with a variety of toppings, but today I chose turkey bacon, onion, and red bell pepper along with the typical breakfast pizza toppings.

Here’s how to make my giant breakfast pizza!

Giant Breakfast Pizza

1 Large Sprouted Grain Tortilla
1 Whole Egg + 2 Egg Whites, Scrambled
1/2 Cup Prepared Gravy, (I used the Great Value brand peppered gravy mix)
1/2 Red Bell Pepper, Chopped
1/4 Cup Yellow Onion, Chopped
1/2 Cup Part Skim Shredded Mozzarella Cheese
3 Slices Turkey Bacon, Cooked
Coconut Oil Spray, (Or oil spray of choice)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. While oven is preheating, cook turkey bacon, scramble eggs, and sauté onions and peppers. Once oven is hot, use either a sheet pan or large sauté pan to toast the tortilla in the oven. Spray both sides of the tortilla with the coconut oil spray and then put in oven for about 6-9 minutes, or until it gets crispy, but not too crispy.

20130629-145944.jpg

Take the tortilla out of the oven and spread the gravy on top.

20130629-150046.jpg

Top with half of the cheese.

20130629-150136.jpg

Top with the peppers and onions, then the eggs, and then the turkey bacon.

20130629-150227.jpg

20130629-150326.jpg

20130629-150404.jpg

Top the pizza with the remaining cheese.

20130629-150516.jpg

Put back in the oven until cheese is pretty melted and the pizza is hot, maybe 4-5 minutes.

Here’s what the end product should look like!

20130629-150637.jpg

This pizza comes in at 637 calories. It could easily serve two people if served with a side of fresh fruit. I personally ate the whole pizza because it was my brunch and I had just gotten home from jazzercise and was hungry. This pizza could easily be adapted and made on a smaller tortilla with less cheese and toppings to be lower in calories.

Some great variations would be to use chicken sausages, or add different veggies such as broccoli, tomatoes, or spinach, or to use only egg whites instead of a whole egg. You could also mix it up and use different cheeses. It’s up to you how you want to make it! The possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

