The Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

Hey everybody! I hope you all had a great 4th of July! I sure did!

As far as eating healthy on the 4th, I ate mostly healthy with a little bit of splurge in there. I went over to the BFF’s and we made a plan to cook our own separate food so that we could still eat healthy and also enjoy the 4th of July without feeling guilty.

We made Gina’s healthy baked chicken nuggets (which were super delicious) and also these super yummy zucchini tots.

The BFF also had a recipe for a quinoa fruit salad so we decided to try that out too. She found the recipe here, but we (and by we, I mean I) decided to tweak it a little. I have trouble following a recipe. I think recipes are for a guideline, and they’re not meant to be exact. Change it up a little and use things you’ve got on hand or use things you love!

The gist of the quinoa fruit salad recipe is that it’s a mix of fruit, with cooked quinoa, and a super simple but delicious dressing. Here’s the recipe that we used instead!

Perfect Summer Quinoa Fruit Salad

1/2 Cup Quinoa
1 Cup Water
Pinch of Salt
Juice of One Large Lime
3 Tbs Honey
2 Tbs Chopped Mint
3/4 Cup Chopped Pineapple
3/4 Cup Green Grapes
3/4 Cup Black Grapes
1 Small Can of Mandarin Oranges, Drained
3/4 Cup Sliced Strawberries
1 and 1/2 Cup Crumbled Feta Cheese
1/4 Cup Toasted Walnuts
1/4 Cup Toasted Pecans

Add the quinoa, water, and salt to a small pan and cook over medium heat until it boils. Let boil for 5 minutes, then turn heat to low and simmer for 15 minutes or until all the water is absorbed. Let the quinoa cool to room temperature. Set aside.

For the dressing, whisk the honey, line juice, and chopped mint together until combined. Set aside.

In a large bowl, add the pineapple, both grapes, mandarin oranges, and strawberries. Add the quinoa next and then stir. Add the dressing and then stir again. Finally, add the toasted nuts and the crumbled feta cheese and stir until just combined. Serve either at room temperature or chilled.

20130705-235403.jpg

20130705-235509.jpg

20130705-235650.jpg

It may not look the prettiest in the pictures, but it looked very pretty in real life. And I thought it tasted great! I had at least a few bites right after it was done, and then had a couple servings with dinner.

It was a perfect balance of sweet, salty, crunchy, and healthy. I’d definitely make this recipe again. I think it’d be a great dish to bring to a potluck at work or something!

Well, that’s all for now. I’m going to Dallas again for the weekend, so hopefully I’ll bring back some new food/foods to blog about. Maybe some more chocolate from Dude, Sweet?! 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

  1. This fruit salad looks really good! I love quinoa, but I would never think to use it with something sweet because I’m still new to eating it and have had it mostly in salads. This has given me a great idea. I’m glad I found your blog and I look forward to following you because I’m also trying to lose 200+ pounds. I started my blog a few days ago and hope you’ll follow me too because I could use the support and encouragement. Cheers.

    That Big Gal
    http://200poundstolose.wordpress.com/

    • You know, its probably only the third time I’ve ever had quinoa. I’m still getting used to it because it’s definitely kind of different!

      I’m so glad you came across my blog and I’d love to support each other through our journeys! It’s nice to know there are others in the same boat as me!

      Good luck! And I can’t wait to read more on your blog!

Leave a Reply

