Eat This, Not That

So I went to Sonic last weekend and I was going to order a tea to drink, but when I saw all of their shake flavors I instantly wanted their peanut butter and jelly shake. I mean, how good does that sound?! Trust me, it was heaven in a styrofoam cup.

When I got home from work last night, I was craving another peanut butter and jelly shake. Luckily, before I decided to go get one at Sonic, I looked up the nutritional info. The mini has 700 calories! That’s insane! The mini is soooo small. It was good, but geez, I don’t think it’s worth 700 calories.

I knew I had to come up with an alternative so that is why I came up with an “Eat This, Not That.”

Eat This

My PB&J Chia Seed Pudding-292 Calories

20130719-112701.jpg

Not That

Sonics PB&J Milkshake-700 Calories

20130719-112912.jpg

Of course, it’s nowhere near tasting like ice cream, but the chia seed pudding still has the same delicious flavor of peanut butter and jelly that I was looking for. And although it’s far from actual ice cream, the pudding is seriously delicious!

Peanut Butter And Jelly Chia Seed Pudding

1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 and 1/2 tablespoons almond butter
1 teaspoon pure maple syrup (not pictured)
Stevia (sweeten to taste)
1 and 1/2 tablespoons jelly or jam of choice

20130719-132632.jpg

Mix the almond milk, chia seeds, peanut butter, maple syrup, and stevia together in a small bowl with a lid.

20130719-132744.jpg

20130719-132817.jpg

Cover and refrigerate for at least 3 hours, but preferably overnight. It may need to be stirred again after the first hour of refrigeration. When ready to eat, add jelly and stir. Then eat.

20130719-133103.jpg

20130719-133132.jpg

I used a local wine fruit spread, Toasted, which you can get here. It’s amazing because it’s got a great wine flavor with real chunks of fruit in it!

This pudding is awesome! It’s definitely something I’m going to make again. The flavor possibilities are endless, kind of like the milkshake combinations at Sonic. đŸ™‚

You can easily cut out some calories by using PB2 instead of almond butter. I would have done that, but I’m out of PB2. You can also skip on the maple syrup and just use stevia to sweeten it. So this pudding could easily be dropped to only 180 calories depending on what ingredients you use.

I’m sure you’ll be seeing other chia seed pudding recipes in the future. I’m thinking about making a coconut mango pudding tomorrow. Yum yum!

Hope everyone has a great weekend! I’ve got some fun plans made so I’m excited for the weekend to get here! As always, I’m sure there will be some delicious, blog-able foods eaten over the weekend as well!

One thought on “Eat This, Not That

Leave a Reply

