Healthy (and only one pan required) Dinner

I love simple. And easy. When you get home from work at 7:30 or later every night like I do, you don’t really feel like cooking and making dinner. That’s why most of the time, I go ahead and cook my dinners before hand and reheat them.

One food I love to eat is chicken and unfortunately it doesn’t taste as great reheated. It’s not so bad if you’re reheating a chicken stir-fry, that’s actually pretty tasty. But a whole chicken breast? It just isn’t the same reheated.

So, I was really excited when I found a recipe for chicken foil packets. I’ve had fish foil packets before (my mom makes an amazing sea bass fish foil packet that I love) but I haven’t tried using chicken in the foil packets.

I took the basic recipe and tweaked it to my liking and I came up with this!

Lindsay’s BBQ Chicken Foil Packets

20 ounces of chicken breasts or tenders
BBQ sauce of choice
1 yellow squash, sliced
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
20 ounces small potatoes, diced small (I used small purple potatoes for the fun color!)
1 bunch of green onion, sliced into one inch slices
Shredded low fat cheese of choice (I used cheddar)
Salt and Pepper
Trader Joes coconut oil spray (or oil spray of choice)
5 sheets of foil

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Lay the sheets of foil out flat. In the center of the foil, add one tablespoon of BBQ sauce and spread it out. Top the spread out BBQ sauce with 4 ounces of chicken breast.

20130807-211145.jpg

Salt and pepper the chicken breast. Spread 2 tablespoons of BBQ sauce over the chicken. Top the chicken with the sliced squash and diced bell peppers. This recipe makes 5 packets, so evenly distribute the vegetables.

20130807-211239.jpg

Place 4 ounces of diced potatoes next to the chicken. Top with the sliced green onion. Spray your oil spray all over the potatoes and vegetables and then salt and pepper both.

20130807-211548.jpg

Fold the foil packet so that it creates a square and it seals everything inside. Place the sealed foil packet onto a sheet pan. Bake at 375 degrees for 35 minutes. After the 35 minutes, take out of the oven, open the foil packet, and add shredded cheese. I added about 1/3 of a cup to each.

20130807-211810.jpg

Bake with the foil packet opened at 375 for another 5 minutes.

Take out of the oven and enjoy!

I served my BBQ foil packets with a side of boiled cabbage for a nutritiously delicious dinner!

The great thing about this recipe was that it was easy to put together when I’d get home late. I chopped my veggies on Sunday and just divided them up into ziplock baggies. All I had to do when I got home was turn on the oven, dice up the potatoes while it preheated, and then assemble the foil packet which took less than 5 minutes. It was a perfect weeknight meal and I loved that it wasn’t just reheated leftovers.

I’m already planning to add this to my recipe rotation. It was just too simple and great not to. I might even have them again next week, maybe with a different theme besides BBQ. Any suggestions??

3 thoughts on “Healthy (and only one pan required) Dinner

Leave a Reply

