Mexican Shrimp Tostadas

The healthy eating is getting a bit easier, but I’ve still got a weakness to go out and buy 4 cookies that I don’t need. And because of that, my weight is holding pretty steady at just under 300 pounds.

I was able to go to jazzercise twice last week, and probably twice this week also. I know….I could have definitely gone 4 times this week since I get off work so much earlier now, but yesterday I went and baked cookies with my grandma after work and Wednesday is MY BIRTHDAY so I deserve a couple days off from exercise. I DID go today, so that’s all that matters. 🙂

Anyways, I’ve got a super simple “recipe” to share with you that I made for dinner last night. It’s so simple that I wouldn’t call it a recipe. It’s more like a “put these things together” and you’ll have a great meal, recipe.

Shrimp Tostadas

(Makes 1 serving)

-2 tostadas
-3 oz of peel and deveined raw shrimp
-1 teaspoon minced garlic
-1/2 teaspoon chili powder
-1/2 teaspoons Mexican spice mix of choice
-1/2 cup fat free refried beans
-1 individual 100 calorie guacamole cup
-1 and 1/2 cups shredded romaine lettuce
-1/3 of a large tomato, diced
-1 oz queso fresco, crumbled

Vinaigrette (optional)
-1 teaspoon olive oil
-1 teaspoon flavored vinegar (I used Serrano honey infused vinegar)
-juice of 1/2 a lime

Calories=600 (Which might seem high but it works for me to keep me feeling full after dinner)

Instructions:

Mix the shrimp with the garlic, chili powder, and Mexican spice mix. Sauté in a sauce pan until shrimp is done.

20131112-220154.jpg

20131112-220231.jpg

While shrimp is cooking, heat up the refried beans in the microwave. When beans are warm, spread the beans evenly onto the two tostadas. Next, spread the guacamole over the beans. Top each tostada with half of the shrimp.

20131112-220424.jpg

Load the tostada with lots of shredded romaine lettuce and diced tomato.

Mix the olive oil, vinegar, and lime juice to make a vinaigrette. Pour over the tostada. Top with crumbled queso fresco. Eat and repeat until all the tostadas are gone.

20131112-220632.jpg

The vinaigrette is optional, but I just really love a sauce any way I can get it. I used this new vinegar and olive oil my sister bought me for my birthday.

20131112-220729.jpg

The Serrano honey infused vinegar was perfect to make this vinaigrette but any vinegar would work!

I have noticed that I tend to use a lot of Mexican flavors when I cook. Luckily, I have found out how to make Mexican food healthy instead of making Mexican food the way I used to it eat…..covered and smother in cheese.

I made a great Taco Twist Soup this week that I’ll have to share with you all next!

P.S. The shrimp tostadas are great to eat while watching The Biggest Loser. I’m so excited for this new season of the show! I remember watching TBL back in January when I first started my journey. Watching the show really helped motivate me. I’m hoping this season does the same so I can get back on the right track 100%!

4 thoughts on “Mexican Shrimp Tostadas

Leave a Reply

