This Is Harder Than I Remember

Getting back into the healthy lifestyle has been harder than I thought. I kinda took it on and went full force and it’s not going well. After doing some reevaluating, I’ve decided to change things a bit.

But first, let me tell you about the changes I’ve made. First, I’ve decided to drink a protein packed smoothie for breakfast every morning. My mid morning snack is something around 150 calories. Lunch is filled with a healthy carb, lean protein, and lots of veggies. Dinner is basically the same as lunch.

Unfortunately, the above plan is not working. Although I love the smoothie for breakfast, I’m already hungry on my first break at work. So by lunch, I’m starving. Lunch isn’t filling me up because I’m used to eating so many more calories. By the time I get off work at 4:30, all I wanna do is eat something and it better be fast. Therefore, the setup of baking chicken and roasting veggies is just not going to cut it because that takes too long. Instead, for dinner, I find myself eating a whole bag of baked chips. Yep, the whole bag…

As for right now, I’m going to try to focus on making healthier choices while trying to come up with a system that works best for me. I’d love to continue to do smoothies in the morning, but I’ve got to get a good mid morning snack in that will help me make it to lunch. Also, the protein powder I bought, called Amazing Meals, only has 90 calories and 10 grams of protein. I’m thinking I might need to switch to one with more protein and calories to keep me feeling full.

Since I’m on this kick right now to be super cheap, I was able to find a company online with great reviews on their protein powder/meal replacement. I sent them an email asking for a sample and being the great company they are, they sent me 2 samples of their protein powder: one vanilla and one chocolate. Their protein powder includes lots of great ingredients such as flax seed, chia seeds, probiotics, healthy greens, healthy fruits, oats, brown rice protein, etc. The brand is called Ka’Chava. Right now, it’s only available online. Hopefully this switch over helps curb my appetite a little better.

I’ll follow up with you once I give Ka’Chava protein powder a try, which will be tomorrow and I’m excited! I’m making a strawberry vanilla smoothie with spinach. Yum!

I DO want to share with you guys a great smoothie recipe I received from the BFF. I made this smoothie my first day and it tasted great. Here’s the recipe!

Chocolate Banana Smoothie
1-2 cups ice
1 frozen banana
1 tbs chia seeds
1 tbs ground flax seed
2 tbs oats
1 tbs unsweetened cocoa
1 scoop protein powder (I used Amazing Meals Vanilla Chai)
1 and 1/2 cups spinach
1 cup unsweetened almond milk
1/2 to 1 tsp extract (I used chocolate hazelnut)

In my amazing New Wave Blender, I first added the ice to get a crushed up texture. I then added the chopped up frozen banana, the almond milk, spinach, and then all of the dry ingredients. Last, I added the extract. Blend until smooth. Well, smooth-ish. Personally, I don’t mind it a little chunky. I like the texture.

20140713-210900-76140052.jpg

20140713-210901-76141833.jpg

20140713-210903-76143934.jpg

After this amazing smoothie result, you’d think I probably would repeat that same recipe the next day right? Nope, I decided to try something new and it turned out horrible. Horrible is being nice. It was un-drinkable. I put mint extract in it to make it taste like mint chocolate chip. Instead it tasted more like liquid Vicks vapor rub. Gross! So that day’s breakfast turned into a frozen pre-made breakfast sandwich that I keep in the freezer for mornings where there isn’t enough time. Not as healthy as a smoothie, but not terrible.

Once I get breakfast under control, my next plan is to work on lunch. I typically find it easier to eat healthy for lunch at work. I always bring my lunch and never eat out, so lunch shouldn’t be too hard. Dinner is my biggest challenge. I will most likely have to start precooking my dinners at the beginning of the week and just reheat all week. We’ll see! I’ll focus on that once I get breakfast and lunch on track.

Anyways, I’m enjoying this whole “blogging” thing again so I hope to keep up with it on the regular. Here’s to hoping for better results this week!

Leave a Reply

