My Food This Week

My days off are Wednesday and Thursday right now. I utilize those days to do my meal planning, grocery shopping, and meal prep. I like to make something new every week. I dislike having to eat the same thing over and over but as a single person, sometimes that can be hard, and in order to cut down on my grocery bill, I’ll eat the same foods over and over all week long.

So around Wednesday, I start looking at recipes and getting ideas on what to cook and eat for the next week. This week I decided on strawberry smoothies for breakfast, hummus and pretzels for snack, laughing cow cheese wedges for snack, jambalaya with a side of roasted brussels sprouts for lunch, thai ground beef over rice with mixed vegetable soup for dinner, and multi-grain Cheerios for a late evening snack if I’m feeling hungry later in the evening.

My food schedule for today looks like this:

Saturday
Breakfast-smoothie
Snack-pita chips, salsa
Lunch-jambalaya, roasted brussels sprouts
Snack-laughing cow cheese wedge, saltines
Dinner-thai ground beef over rice, mixed vegetable soup

Every Wednesday, I will write out each days food schedule for the week so that I know exactly what’s planned. That way, there’s no, “I’m hungry, and tired, what should I make for dinner?” Every meal is literally planned out a week in advance. Obviously things happen and it could change, but I try to adhere to the food schedule as best I can.

Right now, I’m shooting to be under 1900 calories. This is a little high, but I’ll slowly work on getting it down.

Here are some pics of my delicious food from this week!

20140719-210016-75616266.jpg

20140719-210012-75612369.jpg

20140719-210014-75614475.jpg

20140719-210018-75618965.jpg

I couldn’t help myself. I had to sneak in a doggy pic. 🙂

My vegetable soup was fantastic. It has celery, onion, zucchini, squash, carrots, corn, tomatoes, and green beans. It also has lots of water, some beef bouillon cubes, salt and pepper, and some garlic powder.

Unfortunately, the Thai ground beef over rice wasn’t a success. It was ok but definitely not my favorite. I think I’ll sorta rinse off the ground beef and add it to my vegetable soup for the next couple days to make a hearty filling soup. Improvise. It’s what I do best.

Anyways, that is the latest update. Things are slowly getting better each day. Hopefully soon I’ll see or feel some results! Until next time!

One thought on “My Food This Week

Leave a Reply

