Big Girl Biking

Being a big girl, sometimes exercise can be difficult or uncomfortable. For example, when I’m at the gym and I decide to ride the stationary bike, it’s difficult for me because a lot of my extra fat is in my stomach area. So when I pedal, my legs/knees move up into my stomach, making it sorta miserable and uncomfortable.

So when my best friend Megan decided she wanted to go biking on riverside here in Tulsa, I was a little skeptic. I was nervous that it would be hard for me to bike without my knees going into my chub. Also, I feared that I’d be too heavy and the bike would just break into a million pieces. Other than those 2 slightly major fears, I was excited about the biking.

As I think I’ve said before, I am loving getting out on the weekends and doing stuff, fun stuff, exercise stuff! If you know me, you’d know that up until recently, I always said I “hated the great outdoors.” Well, I don’t feel that way anymore. I love being outside and doing fun things now. I just hope (fingers crossed) that when summer comes and its 120 degrees outside, that I’m still enjoying being outside and being active. Fat girls and hot as hell heat don’t mix.

As for yesterday though, the weather was perfect, about 85 degrees, clear skies, and sunny. We rented our bikes on Riverside in Tulsa at a place called Tulsa Townies (http://www.tulsa-townies.com). Basically, you use your credit card to rent the bikes, and if you return the bike within 24 hours, you don’t get charged, so it’s free!

  

You can see the bike rental area behind me. The trail we took started when we crossed the white bridge behind me, and then keeps going all along riverside, a trail that is exactly what it says; along a river. We rode for 2 miles one way, then turned around and came back for a total of 4.13 miles biked. We stopped a few times along the way also. Total it took us 32 minutes.

   

I was pretty exhausted and my legs were worn out. When we started, I think in our minds we thought we’d go farther, but it was a good, tough workout. There were hills along the way, so our legs had to work hard. Either way, it was such a blast! I hope we go again soon and maybe next time, we’ll ride farther.

I wanted to tell you also about my other exercise this week. I worked out 6 times total this week, all doing different things! Here’s what I did this week.

  • Hiking on turkey mountain last Sunday
  • Walked around apartment complex on Tuesday
  • Walked after work on trail near my job
  • Walked on treadmill at the gym Friday night
  • Went bike riding Saturday morning
  • Walked around track at the gym and did arm exercises at the gym Saturday evening

I like variety. It just makes exercise more fun! Here in about an hour, Megan, my friend Demi, and I are going to go back and hike turkey mountain, then go grab lunch.

Yesterday, Megan and I went to Freebirds for lunch after biking. I’m now obsessed with that place. Their website is GREAT if you’re looking to count calories. You just click what you’re adding to your burrito, and it adds up your calories. We’re going back again today for lunch. So easy and so good!

Speaking of food, my eating has been pretty great this week. I had one mess up yesterday where I decided to go get Chinese food, but other than that, I feel like I’ve made great choices. Here’s some of what I ate last week.

   

The first day, I made black bean tacos for lunch but the beans made the tacos soft and fall apart. So the next day, I decided to eat the beans on the side and just have avocado tacos with diced Roma tomato and cotija cheese. Sooo yummy! I served the tacos with either carrots or green beans.

Breakfast was omelets with toast OR cereal and scrambled eggs.  

  

  

I had tuna salad sandwiches for a couple lunches and once for dinner. Tuna is such an easy go to for a quick meal. Tuna even saved me from going to Taco Bueno one night after working out because I was tired, but I knew I could make a really fast tuna sandwich so I didn’t end up getting fast food.

   

For dinners last week, I had pizza toasts with a side salad, PF Chang’s frozen Mongolian beef with fried rice, mini chicken tacos with guacamole and a side salad, and baked fish with mashed potatoes and carrots.

 

     

I wanted to be able to give a weight loss update, but I don’t have one for this week. Even with all this exercise, I’ve actually gained a pound. I’m going to tell myself that it’s muscle so I don’t get discouraged from continuing to exercise and eat healthy.

Even without weight loss, it has been a great week! Now I must go so I can go hike turkey mountain with my friends!

2 thoughts on “Big Girl Biking

  1. That increase in exercise is awesome! It will show up in inches sometimes before if shows up in pounds, so don’t get discouraged!.So proud of you for all the changes you have made in your life over the past year and the successes you are experiencing as a result!

Leave a Reply

